Waterfalls Travel
Takakkaw Falls dropping down a cliff above a turquoise glacial river in Yoho National Park, Canada

Canadian Rockies waterfall tours: what runs, and when

14 tours from roughly 30 to 250 EUR. Six name Yoho or Takakkaw Falls, and the Yoho Valley Road is closed from mid-October to mid-June.

Six of the 14 Canadian Rockies waterfall tours on this page name Takakkaw Falls or Yoho in the title, and from mid-October to mid-June the road to Takakkaw is closed to vehicles, according to Parks Canada. So before you book, check the month: here the waterfall comes and goes with the calendar. The 14 listings cost roughly 30 to 250 EUR, and most are eight to twelve hour days from Banff, Canmore or Calgary, with party caps between 8 and 30 per booking. This page sorts them by what they visit, says what is closed as of 22 October 2026, checks the claims the listings repeat, and works out what the park passes add to the price. Niagara and the rest of the country are on the Canada page, and a waterfall that never closes is on the Montmorency Falls page.

Two things on this page change every month: what is open, and what a listing still promises after it closes. The season table below is the part to check against Parks Canada the week you book. Where a listing is silent about a fee, a group size or a fallback, the page says so instead of guessing. Prices are in euros as the provider lists them, and ratings are weighted by the number of reviews, not averaged across listings. Closure dates come from Parks Canada and should be confirmed with it before you pay. The distances come from the map below, measured in a straight line, because the listings give road times only for the whole day.

Banff and Yoho Day Tour: Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, Emerald Lake, Johnston Canyon
Free cancellation

Banff and Yoho Day Tour: Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, Emerald Lake, Johnston Canyon

4.7 (14) 4.7 stars out of 5, 14 reviews

Day tour from Calgary, Canmore or Banff covering Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, Emerald Lake and Johnston Canyon, with an optional Banff Gondola stop at the end.

€ 77.79
Banff Day Tour: Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon, Moraine Lake in Summer, Bow Falls in Winter
Free cancellation

Banff Day Tour: Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon, Moraine Lake in Summer, Bow Falls in Winter

4.8 (46) 4.8 stars out of 5, 46 reviews

Day tour with pickup in Calgary, Canmore or Banff: Moraine Lake joins the route in summer, while Bow Falls and Surprise Corner take over when it is closed.

€ 71.26
Banff Day Trip: Two Hours at Johnston Canyon Upper Falls, Bow Falls, Optional Gondola
Free cancellation

Banff Day Trip: Two Hours at Johnston Canyon Upper Falls, Bow Falls, Optional Gondola

5.0 (3) 5.0 stars out of 5, 3 reviews

Timed stops from Calgary, Canmore or Banff: 120 minutes at Johnston Canyon, 45 minutes in Banff town, Bow Falls and Surprise Corner, plus an optional gondola.

€ 103.94
Heart Creek Canyon Half-Day Canyoning for Beginners: Rappels and Waterfall Slide
Free cancellation

Heart Creek Canyon Half-Day Canyoning for Beginners: Rappels and Waterfall Slide

4.8 (143) 4.8 stars out of 5, 143 reviews

First time on a rope? A guided half day in Heart Creek Canyon with a safety clinic, five rappels and an optional waterfall slide, 10 minutes from Canmore.

€ 127.48
Icefields Parkway Tour: Peyto Lake, Bow Lake, Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls
Free cancellation

Icefields Parkway Tour: Peyto Lake, Bow Lake, Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls

4.9 (248) 4.9 stars out of 5, 248 reviews

A day on the Icefields Parkway that switches by season: Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls from April to November, Abraham Lake ice bubbles and snowshoeing in winter.

€ 51.64
Johnston Canyon Ice Walk: Frozen Falls with Radventures, Van Groups of 10 Max
Free cancellation

Johnston Canyon Ice Walk: Frozen Falls with Radventures, Van Groups of 10 Max

5.0 (52) 5.0 stars out of 5, 52 reviews

Ice cleats, poles and hot drinks come with this winter walk to the frozen Lower and Upper Falls, led by a guide with no more than 10 guests per van from Banff.

€ 78.45
Lake Louise, Emerald Lake and Takakkaw Falls: Banff, Yoho and Kootenay Day Tour
Free cancellation

Lake Louise, Emerald Lake and Takakkaw Falls: Banff, Yoho and Kootenay Day Tour

5.0 (162) 5.0 stars out of 5, 162 reviews

Family-owned day tour through Banff, Yoho and Kootenay with certified local guides, and Peyto Lake replacing Takakkaw Falls when it closes for the season.

€ 68.64
Radventures Yoho Small-Group Tour: Emerald Lake, Takakkaw Falls, Max 12 Guests
Free cancellation

Radventures Yoho Small-Group Tour: Emerald Lake, Takakkaw Falls, Max 12 Guests

4.9 (160) 4.9 stars out of 5, 160 reviews

Radventures keeps this Yoho and Kootenay day to 12 guests, with 1.5 hours at Emerald Lake, Takakkaw Falls, Marble Canyon and the Spiral Tunnels viewpoint.

€ 232.07
Small-Group Icefields Parkway Day Trip: Athabasca Falls and Abraham Lake Ice Bubbles
Free cancellation

Small-Group Icefields Parkway Day Trip: Athabasca Falls and Abraham Lake Ice Bubbles

4.9 (139) 4.9 stars out of 5, 139 reviews

Small-group day trip from Calgary, Canmore or Banff: Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls from March to November, Abraham Lake ice bubbles with crampons in winter.

€ 84.33
Small-Group Yoho and Kootenay Day Tour: Takakkaw Falls, Emerald Lake, Marble Canyon
Free cancellation

Small-Group Yoho and Kootenay Day Tour: Takakkaw Falls, Emerald Lake, Marble Canyon

4.8 (49) 4.8 stars out of 5, 49 reviews

A small-group day through Yoho and Kootenay with Takakkaw Falls, Emerald Lake, the Spiral Tunnels and Marble Canyon, with pickup in Banff, Canmore or Calgary.

€ 130.09
Summer Small-Group Rockies Tour from Calgary: Moraine Lake, Lake Louise, Takakkaw Falls
Free cancellation

Summer Small-Group Rockies Tour from Calgary: Moraine Lake, Lake Louise, Takakkaw Falls

5.0 (7) 5.0 stars out of 5, 7 reviews

A summer-only small-group day from Calgary that links Moraine Lake, Lake Louise, Takakkaw Falls and Banff town, with scenic drives between the main stops.

€ 77.79
Yoho Day Tour: Wapta Falls and Takakkaw Falls in Summer, Marble Canyon in Winter
Free cancellation

Yoho Day Tour: Wapta Falls and Takakkaw Falls in Summer, Marble Canyon in Winter

4.7 (38) 4.7 stars out of 5, 38 reviews

Wapta Falls and Takakkaw Falls fill the summer days of this Yoho tour, with Marble Canyon on crampons in winter, plus a one-hour lunch stop in Field town.

€ 97.41
Yoho Park Day Trip: Emerald Lake Canoe Stop, Natural Bridge and an Hour at Takakkaw Falls
Free cancellation

Yoho Park Day Trip: Emerald Lake Canoe Stop, Natural Bridge and an Hour at Takakkaw Falls

5.0 (16) 5.0 stars out of 5, 16 reviews

A short Yoho itinerary with time to rent a canoe at Emerald Lake, a stop at the Natural Bridge and a full hour at Takakkaw Falls, which drops 373 metres.

€ 107.87
Yoho Waterfalls, Lake Louise and Moraine Lake: 8-Hour Tour from Golden, BC
Free cancellation

Yoho Waterfalls, Lake Louise and Moraine Lake: 8-Hour Tour from Golden, BC

5.0 (7) 5.0 stars out of 5, 7 reviews

Eight hours from Golden, BC, with an hour at Emerald Lake, a short hike to Takakkaw Falls and another hour at Moraine Lake for the Rockpile or the shoreline.

€ 137.28

Ratings collected by Viator and Tripadvisor

Why a Canadian Rockies waterfall tour depends on the month

Parks Canada's trail conditions page, updated on 21 October 2026, lists the Yoho Valley Road, the only road to Takakkaw Falls, as closed from mid-October to mid-June. It gives no year for the reopening, so the next window is the one that starts in mid-June 2027. One Yoho day lists pickups only for 1 June to 12 October, and another says Takakkaw Falls is replaced by Peyto Lake when the road is shut. The Icefields Parkway listing splits its year in two: from 1 April to 30 November it visits Sunwapta and Athabasca Falls, and from 1 December to 31 March it drives to Abraham Lake to see ice bubbles.

The road to Takakkaw Falls is open about four months a year. For the other eight, a listing that names it is selling a substitute.
What each group of listings visits, and the window it works in
Where Listings Window What replaces it
Takakkaw Falls, Yoho National Park6 name Yoho or TakakkawYoho Valley Road open mid-June to mid-October (Parks Canada)One listing swaps in Peyto Lake; no fallback stated in the others
Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls, Icefields Parkway21 April to 30 November (one listing); another says 1 March to 30 NovemberAbraham Lake, 1 December to 31 March
Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park3Frozen-falls pickups 13 October to 31 May; trail closed until 11 December 2026 (Parks Canada)Ask the operator what runs in the gap
Heart Creek canyoning, near Canmore1Gear advice names May and SeptemberNone stated
Lakes-and-falls day trips from Banff and Calgary2Not stated in the listing summaryNot stated
Takakkaw Falls on a rock wall above a rocky stream, Yoho National Park, British Columbia

Takakkaw Falls: how tall, and the second-tallest claim

Three heights circulate. Britannica's 373 m is the one most listings repeat, the World Waterfall Database gives 302 m, and a 1985 survey measured the main drop at 254 m. What is plainly wrong is the line two listings here repeat, that it is the second tallest waterfall in Canada. Wikipedia calls the label frequently wrong and says the database lists about 55 taller falls in the country.

The water comes from the Daly Glacier, part of the Waputik Icefield. Wikipedia says the flow peaks in late spring from snow and glacier melt.

Canadian Rockies waterfall tours by what they visit

The 14 listings sort into five groups. Six go to Takakkaw Falls and Emerald Lake in Yoho: roughly 60 to 250 EUR, seven and a half to nine hours. Two drive the Icefields Parkway to Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls, at roughly 30 to 120 EUR for 10 and 11 hours. Three are built around Johnston Canyon: a four-hour frozen-falls walk and two day trips, all between roughly 60 and 120 EUR. One is the Heart Creek canyoning half day, in the 120 to 250 EUR band. The last two, each under 120 EUR and 11 to 12 hours, are long lakes-and-falls loops.

Ten of the 14 sit under 120 EUR. The 12-hour loop and the four-hour frozen-falls walk cost about the same, so length does not predict the price.

Chart of the prices of the 14 Canadian Rockies Waterfall Tours listings on waterfalls.travel, median 93.3 EUR
Each mark is one of the 14 listings, placed by length and price. The lone orange diamond is the canyoning half day. Only one listing costs far more than the rest. · Waterfalls Travel Editorial, from the prices of the tours listed on this site

The one dot far above the rest is the Radventures Yoho day: a small group capped at 12, a picnic lunch, hotel pickup in Banff, Canmore and Lake Louise. The much cheaper day from Rocky Mountain Trips covers nearly the same stops, with three parks' admissions listed as included and lunch left to you. It is among the cheapest ways to Takakkaw Falls on this page, while the road is open, and its rating is 5.0 on 161 reviews. The extra cost mostly buys lunch, a smaller group and hotel pickup.

Five listings opened in full on 22 October 2026
Listing Price band (EUR) Length Lunch Park admission Group size
Yoho day, Rocky Mountain TripsUnder 1209 hNot includedThree parks listed as includedUp to 12 per booking
Yoho day, Radventures120 to 2508 hPicnic lunchNot statedMax 12 guests
Icefields Parkway, Banff JourneyUnder 12010 hBring your ownNot statedUp to 30; needs 6 people to run
Johnston Canyon frozen falls, RadventuresUnder 1204 hHot drinks and a treatNot statedMax 10 guests
Heart Creek canyoning, Bow Valley Canyon Tours120 to 2504 hNoneAlberta conservation pass is yours to buyUp to 8 per booking
Hiker on the steel walkway along the rock wall of Johnston Canyon, Banff National Park

Johnston Canyon: two waterfalls behind a catwalk, closed until December

Johnston Canyon is a canyon with a footpath, and the waterfalls are what the path is for. The frozen-falls operator puts the Lower Falls 1.2 km and about 30 minutes in, the Upper Falls another 1.3 km on, and the round trip at two hours and 5 km.

The trail is the problem in autumn 2026. A Parks Canada bulletin closes the trail and the day use area from 13 October to 11 December 2026 for construction work, and its trail conditions page showed the trail as closed on 27 October. Ask whether the day trips that name the canyon still stop there.

The Icefields Parkway: Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls

Athabasca Falls is short and heavy: 24 m in two drops, 46 m wide, carrying an average 113 cubic metres a second over hard quartzite into a gorge. It lies about 30 km south of Jasper, off the Parkway on Highway 93A. Sunwapta Falls, farther south, is two falls about 18.5 m high fed by the Athabasca Glacier. The Parkway needs a national parks pass. The Banff Journey listing picks up in Calgary, Canmore and Banff, and says the Athabasca stop can be changed or cancelled for weather and road conditions.

How far apart the waterfalls are

The map explains the day lengths. Takakkaw Falls is about 72 km from Banff in a straight line and Johnston Canyon about 20, which is why the canyon fits a half day. Athabasca Falls is about 229 km from Banff in a straight line, which is why the Icefields days run 10 and 11 hours. Straight-line figures are ours, measured from listing coordinates; roads are longer.

Map of Canadian Rockies Waterfall Tours showing the main waterfalls and the towns where tours start
Squares are where most tours start, dots are the waterfalls the listings visit. Takakkaw Falls lies west of Lake Louise; Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls are far to the north, near Jasper. · Waterfalls Travel Editorial; map data Natural Earth, place positions © OpenStreetMap contributors

Canyoning at Heart Creek: the one listing that gets you wet

The canyoning half day costs 120 to 250 EUR for four hours and starts at the Heart Creek trailhead, 17 km east of Canmore. A hike of 30 to 60 minutes leads to the top of the canyon, then a rope clinic and five rappels. The last is a wet waterfall rappel of 70 to 80 feet or more, which you can walk around. Wetsuits, helmet and harness are included. The minimum age is 12, no experience is needed, and you sign a waiver. It runs rain or shine, and the upper canyon can be dry late in summer.

Park passes: the cost that is not always in the price

Parks Canada lists Yoho admission at 12.25 CAD a day for an adult aged 18 to 64, 10.75 CAD for a senior, nothing for youth, and 24.50 CAD for up to seven people in one vehicle. A Discovery Pass is 83.50 CAD for an adult and 167.50 for a family. Of the five listings we opened in full, only the Rocky Mountain Trips Yoho day says admissions are included, and Heart Creek tells you to buy an Alberta conservation pass for the parking lot, one per vehicle. Where a listing is silent, ask.

When to go

July to September gives the widest choice. May, June and October leave the Icefields falls and whatever the Yoho road allows. From December to March the falls worth a tour are frozen: Johnston Canyon once the trail reopens, and the Abraham Lake ice bubbles that replace the falls on the Icefields day.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Best Possible Closed or frozen

Questions about Canadian Rockies waterfall tours

Is Takakkaw Falls the second tallest waterfall in Canada?

It is often called that, but Wikipedia says the label is frequently wrong and that the World Waterfall Database lists about 55 taller falls in Canada. The height itself is quoted as 373 m, 302 m or 254 m for the main drop.

When does the Yoho Valley Road open?

Parks Canada lists a seasonal closure from mid-October through mid-June, and its page of 21 October 2026 shows the road closed for the winter. It gives no exact reopening date, so check the trail conditions page before booking a Yoho tour for early June.

Do I need a park pass for a Rockies waterfall tour?

Yes, in the national parks, and whether the tour pays it varies. Yoho admission is 12.25 CAD for an adult, and the Icefields Parkway needs a pass too. One listing includes three parks' admissions. Others are silent.

Can I see Johnston Canyon in winter 2026 to 2027?

Parks Canada lists the trail and day use area as closed until 11 December 2026 for construction work, so winter tours depend on how that is handled. After it reopens, ice cleats and poles are included in the frozen-falls listing.

Want a waterfall that does not close for winter?

Montmorency Falls, near Quebec City, is listed as open all year by the city's tourism board. Its page reads 16 tours, from small-group city tours to private cars.

Data verified on . Tours, prices and ratings read from 14 listings on 22 October 2026. Seasons and fees from Parks Canada; heights from Wikipedia; Johnston Canyon closure from a Parks Canada bulletin.